Inspiration

I am probably like most people where it seems that my inspiration and best ideas come at the least opportune moments. Typically, it’s at about 2 in the morning. There are many nights, where the idea comes and plants itself so squarely in my mind, that I have to get up and write it down, or there will be no going back to sleep. Lately, it has become a bit of a problem for me personally.

I have had ADD since I was young. When I was a child, it was not diagnosed the way it is today. I was told I was lazy in math class and that I just didn’t want to try. Truth was, math was hard, and the moment I set foot in that class my mind would wonder to another planet where it was much less taxing on me. Focusing on certain things was always difficult. Meetings, classes, down times at jobs, were struggles for me. Even when it seemed like I was on another planet, my mind is constantly going at 1,000 miles per hour. That is why reading was always such an escape for me. It allowed me to process the material as quickly as I could go and would take me to another world of imagination. I got yelled at a lot for reading during math class. Sometimes, menial tasks were just the sort of thing I needed to reboot and calm my mind. Writing stories, poetry, even a journal was quite often helpful too.

When I was in college and I took my special education classes, I discovered what the problem was. By then, I had learned how to compensate so there was never any point in going to the doctor. I didn’t really need to be medicated because I was not hyperactive, just spacey. I always had episodes of my mind racing, but I was able to calm it through writing or working out. It never became a true problem until lately.

Within the last few months, my life has definitely gone through quite a bit of upheaval. I had a baby and have become a mother. I have gone back to work full time. I have written four children’s manuscripts (The Livi Bug Series). I love to write and I am so glad I have become more involved in that passion and trying to make it something more than my hobby. But since that decision, my brain has been in overdrive. I have millions of ideas and thoughts that are a constant stream running through my mind. I will go to bed and have to wake up and write just to quiet the constant hum that has become my brain. It has begun to affect all aspects of my life, some for the better and some not. Try explaining it to your husband. It was hard enough getting it on this page where I thought people might know what I am talking about.

I am not complaining about the ideas or inspirations that I have. Please do not get me wrong. But I do need to figure out how to quiet my ever-racing mind. I don’t know if this is a writer thing or an ADD thing, but if anyone has any recommendations on how to tone it down, they would be appreciated. I don’t know, maybe this is my sign that I really am supposed to keep going with this. I guess I will just have to wait and see. I guess inspiration comes from everywhere, even my ADD.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Inspiration

  1. Yes indeed the professor agrees with you! Inspiration is in the stars and in the trees it truly is all about just breathe it in. We are the closed doors that forbid its entrance. Are you Punchyish?

Leave a Reply

