How NaNoWriMo Made Me Do It

I have never written a novel before. I am working hard to finish it, but it is not yet completed. It is a work in progress. But NaNoWriMo made me do it. Life is hectic. I am a wife, mother, teacher, then writer. I have lots of motherly/wifely responsibilities that need to be taken care of on a daily basis. I try to do it all, yet I am only human.

NaNoWriMo has shown me that I can get it done. Writing a novel is something that was on my bucket list and is quickly becoming a reality. I had hoped to get it done some day. I knew I could do it eventually considering I had written a couple of picture book manuscripts. I don’t know if it will be any good. I have hopes that it will be and maybe it will get published. Doesn’t every writer. But even if it doesn’t, I did it for me. I didn’t do it for fame or fortune. I did it to say that I could do it.

Of course I am going to edit and revise and edit and revise, probably to the point of insanity. Hopefully, at some point, I will get the courage to submit it to someone after being rejected for my other manuscripts. But the bottom line is, I did it for me and my family. I did it to show my daughter that hard work pays off. That you can accomplish dreams and do the impossible. Thank you NaNoWriMo. 10,000 more to go and I can check one off my bucket list.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

