Perspective

I took a break from writing. Those words are hard for me to type because it’s something that I love. At the time, it was necessary though. I just discovered I was going to be having my beautiful second daughter, I already had my one-year-old at home and my family required my full attention. I’m not bitter or angry, surprising so. I would do it all again in a heartbeat.

Getting back into writing has been hard. Starting a routine, beginning the process of querying all over again, just figuring out where to begin. The last few weeks have been challenging, but they have taught me a lot.

I am stronger than I thought. I can balance more, do more, create more than I believed I could. I’ve finished half a novel in the last month and I think that is something to celebrate. My energy for pushing my other books has been renewed. Rejection can wear on you. As much as I wanted to believe that it didn’t affect me, it definitely did. Let’s be honest, you would have to be a robot to not feel some kind of way about agents saying, “great, but no thanks”.

I’ve participated in a few pitch contests in the last weeks and I’ve gotten some nibbles. Definitely more than before. I’m much more optimistic this time. Some space has healed my wounds and I’m ready to make it happen. I’m going to make it happen. But I couldn’t have done this a year ago.

Sometimes, it’s not the right time. Sometimes, the stars don’t align. Sometimes, you need to step back and gain some perspective.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

