Why You Should Read With Your Kids

If you couldn’t already tell, I’m a writer, a teacher, and most importantly, a mom. Reading and writing are extremely important to me. I even got a Master’s in how to teach kids to read. I think it’s because books have always played such a crucial part of my life. When I was a child, I used my books to escape bullying, boredom, and every day life. I’ve traveled a million places and all through the eyes of characters in books. I’ve learned biology, internalized philosophy from masters, and witnessed events from multiple perspectives through the eyes of all walks of life. I want to give that to others, which is why I write. But I also want to give that to my girls.

Every night before bed, we read a bedtime story that my daughter has chosen since she understood what the word “choose” meant. We snuggle up on her bed and read. Sometimes, she’s even able to read it with me because of the patterns and repetitions in the text (I Love Dogs by Sue Stainton and Bob Staake is her current obsession). She’s even started the, “I do it on my own” declaration and will take the book and do a picture walk with it independently.

She also finds haven in a book store. She’ll sit on the floor and look through book after book with exclamations of “look!” and “wow!”. All the time my newest daughter who is only seven months old, watches her with saucer eyes, soaking it all in.

Why does this make me more proud than anything I have ever accomplished? To see them loving books is giving my girls access to other worlds. Anything they could ever want to know is written in a book somewhere. I’m giving them the power to be whoever they want to be whenever they want to be them. That is the single greatest accomplishment of my life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

