Not Hitting Your Goals is Okay – 2016 Semi-Inspiring Pep Talk

So I set a goal for myself: Have an agent by my 31st birthday. Now, ten days away from my deadline, it’s not going to happen. That crushes me to have to write that on the screen, but it’s true. I’m one of the most tenacious people I know and admitting defeat is against every piece of who I am. But I lost – in one way. I won – in many others.

2015 has been a year of growth. I learned that I need to conform (no matter how hard it is) to some aspects of genre whereas, I can break rules in others if I’m careful. I’ve made a ton of writer friends who have helped me immensely with improving my writing. I’ve received many compliments and encouraging words from those people and I cannot thank them enough. I’ve also learned balance and that I can’t be so goal driven that everything else falls away. I’ve learned that sometimes you have to scrap 2/3 of a novel and rewrite it because it sucks. But most importantly, I’ve learned that if I keep going, I will get there. I’ve seen that I’m on the right path, but I still have a little ways to go and there’s nothing wrong with that.

But I’d better get there in 2016 or God help me (just kidding, kind of).

Happy New Year Everyone. I hope all your goals become realized in 2016.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

